company history


Elgin Clark

In 1961, Elgin Clark and Bill Trombley recognized a need in the Lansing area for mechanical and electrical consulting engineering services. They founded Elgin L. Clark Consulting Engineers and worked from an upstairs office on Washington Ave. downtown. Soon after, the firm became known as Clark Trombley Associates. They worked closely with local architects such as Bernie Mayotte, Bob Freeman, Bob Smith, Bruce Hartwig, and Barbara Munson, as well as clients like General Motors, Michigan State University, and Sparrow and Lansing General (now IRMC) Hospitals. Some of the more notable buildings they designed are the Accident Fund Building, Auto-Owners Moulton Building, and MSU Indoor Tennis Center.

Bill Trombley

An expanding staff and client base made the move to the west side of Lansing necessary in the late 1970’s. In 1986, as Bill and Elgin neared retirement, the firm was sold to Randers Engineering, a process design group based in Muskegon, and became known as Clark Trombley Randers Consulting Engineers, commonly referred to as CTR.

Elgin and Bill retired in the late 1980’s and the firm continued to be owned by Randers Engineering until 2004 when it was purchased by Dave Tratt and Mark Demana, returning the firm to local ownership. In 2010, Dave Tratt became sole owner of Clark Trombley Randers until Robin Hyman joined the firm as Principal in 2013.

In 2016, CTR expanded into the Grand Rapids market and hired Scott Floyd, PE to manage that expansion.We have been well received in West Michigan and appreciate the new relationships we have had the opportunity to build.

Our growth continues as Scott Floyd and Jacob Sabins, PE, were named Principals and joined the ownership team in 2018.Scott Morgenstern, PE, joined the GR staff in 2018 as lead mechanical engineer and was named a Principal in 2019.

At CTR today, as we approach our 60 year milestone, we strive to continue the legacy of quality and customer service. We’ve enjoyed the client relationships established by Elgin and Bill, and have added many new ones as we look forward to the next 60 years!